What Type of Cells Do Not Undergo Mitosis?

    Answer: Mature red blood cells, neurons, and some muscle cells do not undergo mitosis.

    Mitosis is the process by which a cell replicates its DNA and divides into two genetically identical daughter cells. This process is essential for the growth, development, and repair of tissues and organs in multicellular organisms.

    However, there are certain types of cells that do not undergo mitosis. These include mature red blood cells (erythrocytes), neurons (nerve cells), and some muscle cells (cardiac and skeletal muscle cells). These cells are considered post-mitotic, meaning they have exited the cell cycle and no longer divide.

    Mature Red Blood Cells

    Mature red blood cells (RBCs) are unique in that they do not possess a nucleus or organelles, making them incapable of undergoing mitosis. The primary function of RBCs is to transport oxygen from the lungs to the body’s tissues and remove carbon dioxide for excretion. Their unique structure allows them to carry out this function efficiently, as the lack of a nucleus provides more space for hemoglobin, the oxygen-binding protein.

    RBCs are formed in the bone marrow through a process called erythropoiesis. During this process, hematopoietic stem cells differentiate into proerythroblasts, which then undergo several rounds of mitosis to produce reticulocytes. Reticulocytes are immature RBCs that still contain a nucleus and some organelles. These reticulocytes enter the bloodstream, where they lose their nucleus and organelles, becoming mature RBCs.

    The average lifespan of an RBC is around 120 days, after which it is broken down and recycled in the spleen and liver. Since mature RBCs do not undergo mitosis, new RBCs must be continually produced in the bone marrow to replace those that are lost.


    Neurons are the primary cells of the nervous system, responsible for transmitting electrical and chemical signals throughout the body. Unlike many other cell types, neurons are post-mitotic and do not undergo mitosis once they have matured. This is primarily due to the highly specialized structure and function of neurons, which would be compromised if the cells were to divide.

    During development, neural stem cells give rise to neurons through a process called neurogenesis. After differentiating into neurons, these cells migrate to their final positions in the brain and spinal cord, where they extend axons and dendrites to form connections with other neurons. Once these connections are established, the neurons become post-mitotic and exit the cell cycle.

    Although neurons do not undergo mitosis, research has shown that certain regions of the adult mammalian brain, such as the hippocampus, continue to produce new neurons through a process called adult neurogenesis. However, the number of neurons generated through adult neurogenesis is relatively small compared to the overall number of neurons in the brain.

    Muscle Cells

    There are three types of muscle cells in the body: skeletal, cardiac, and smooth muscle cells. Skeletal and cardiac muscle cells are post-mitotic and do not undergo mitosis, while smooth muscle cells retain the ability to divide.

    Skeletal muscle cells, also known as muscle fibers, are formed during development through a process called myogenesis. Myoblasts, which are muscle precursor cells, fuse together to form multinucleated muscle fibers. Once these fibers are formed, they exit the cell cycle and become post-mitotic. Skeletal muscle growth and repair are primarily achieved through the hypertrophy (increase in size) of existing muscle fibers rather than the production of new fibers through mitosis.

    Cardiac muscle cells, or cardiomyocytes, are also post-mitotic and do not undergo mitosis. Cardiac muscle cells are responsible for the rhythmic contractions of the heart that pump blood throughout the body. Similar to skeletal muscle cells, cardiomyocytes are formed during development and become post-mitotic once they have matured.

    The heart’s limited ability to regenerate lost or damaged cardiomyocytes has significant implications for heart disease and recovery from injury. Research is ongoing to explore potential therapies that may stimulate the regeneration of cardiac muscle tissue.

    In contrast, smooth muscle cells are capable of undergoing mitosis and can regenerate in response to injury or increased workload. Smooth muscle cells are found in the walls of various internal organs, such as blood vessels, the gastrointestinal tract, and the respiratory system.

    Unlike skeletal and cardiac muscle cells, smooth muscle cells do not form highly organized, striated structures and have a less specialized function. Their ability to divide allows them to adapt to changing conditions and maintain the proper function of the organs they support.

    Disclaimer: While we make every effort to update the information, products, and services on our website and related platforms/websites, inadvertent inaccuracies, typographical errors, or delays in updating the information may occur. The material provided on this site and associated web pages is for reference and general information purposes only. In case of any inconsistencies between the information provided on this site and the respective product/service document, the details mentioned in the product/service document shall prevail. Subscribers and users are advised to seek professional advice before acting on the information contained herein. It is recommended that users make an informed decision regarding any product or service after reviewing the relevant product/service document and applicable terms and conditions. If any inconsistencies are observed, please reach out to us.

    Latest Articles

    Related Stories

    Leave A Reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Join our newsletter and stay updated!